British English Български Čeština Français Deutsch (Du) Magyar Italiano 日本語 Lietuvių Polski Русский Српски Slovenčina Español (Tú) Türkçe Українська
Select language:

Old tuner new to SECU-3i

<<

Stewart B

User avatar

Posts: 8

Joined: 28 Oct 2017, 06:05


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Post 06 Jan 2019, 04:45

Old tuner new to SECU-3i

Greetings from Australia. I have just ordered the terrific SECU -3i and downloaded firmware and manager. Am I missing some information because I cannot edit files offline? I wish to make the fuel and ignition maps plus set up triggers etc, before loading into the ECU.
<<

kommando

User avatar

Posts: 31

Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 19:58

Your CAR: Norton Commando

SECU version: official SECU-3T


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Post 06 Jan 2019, 13:56

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

Assuming this is on a PC,

Run the secu3 exe file

Click ok on the communication error message (as you have not yet connected a box to the PC)

Then the program will start but with everything greyed out

Using the tabs on the bottom click on the 'Firmware Data' tab

Then look at the bottom right and click on ''Actions on the firmware'

Then click on 'Open flash from file'

Select the firmware file from your firmware folder on the PC

The firmware data will load and can then be modified within the program, save the changes and change the firmware name so the original is preserved as your base.


Note that you need to be careful in the selection of the base firmware file, there is fixed data set by the firmware like if you need fuel injection or not, type of trigger. Once you have the right one then you can play with the editable data. If you do need to change software all is not lost as you can select a new base firmware but then take the data from your previous working firmware by importing from file. Files can get corrupted so save new versions with a changed name so you can revert with only minor changes to recover.
<<

Stewart B

User avatar

Posts: 8

Joined: 28 Oct 2017, 06:05


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Post 07 Jan 2019, 23:50

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

Hello and thanks again. I don't seem to see the firmware to open once I click Actions. I get the manager up no problem, click Actions but cannot see 'firmare" to open.
<<

kommando

User avatar

Posts: 31

Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 19:58

Your CAR: Norton Commando

SECU version: official SECU-3T


Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Post 08 Jan 2019, 11:06

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

You have to navigate to the folder you have put the firmware files in, once you locate the folder the firmware will be listed. If you can use Windows file manager it will be easy.
<<

Stewart B

User avatar

Posts: 8

Joined: 28 Oct 2017, 06:05


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Post 12 Jan 2019, 07:50

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

Great, I downloaded the latest hard work from Alexey and used Win Rar. Worked fine :)
I am preparing the maps and wonder if there is a way to allocate Row Map numbers instead of them being extrapolations of upper and lower map limits? Same with RPM as well would be good. I use software to create VE profiles and fuel and ign maps, you see and prefer to use the predictions Map readings to set the upper load limits. So my Y axis can start from the top row being 102 kpa, 2nd row 101, 3rd 100,4th 99 then 5th 97. Then I drop to 90, 80,70,60,50,40,30,20,10 then use Idle rpm amount , say 700 then 1000 increasing in increments of 500 rpm.
What am I missing in my reading, Sirs?
<<

STC

User avatar

Posts: 9012

Joined: 30 Apr 2013, 23:41

Location: Ukraine

Your CAR: AZLK 2140

SECU version: DIY SECU-3


Has thanked: 1028 times
Been thanked: 2193 times

Post 12 Jan 2019, 17:11

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

Hello,

In current versions of software you can specify only upper and lower values for MAP axis.
For RPM axis it is possible to specify grid (bins) values. Go to the "Firmware data" tab and find a small button with grid icon (near to calculator icon). Press that button and it will open window where you can edit RPM axis values.
Author of the SECU-3™ project http://SECU-3.org. An open source engine control unit / Ignition control system, (C) 2007.
Клуб проекта в Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/secu3club
Клуб проекта ВКонтакте https://vk.com/secu3club (вступаем!)
<<

Stewart B

User avatar

Posts: 8

Joined: 28 Oct 2017, 06:05


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Post 08 Apr 2019, 01:49

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

Thanks STC,
I am setting up my parameters in manager and have a couple of questions for you.
1/ I use software in engine simulation programs to guide my bin values for VE.
How do you predict the VE, please?
2/ I my past projects the fuel tables used a Master pulse width ( maximum pulse width) which then became percentages of the Master in the fuel table bins.
Am I correct in understanding Manager is at V4.7 where the above is used? I notice that the Fuel set up is asking Min. pulse width. What does this m,ean, please?
<<

STC

User avatar

Posts: 9012

Joined: 30 Apr 2013, 23:41

Location: Ukraine

Your CAR: AZLK 2140

SECU version: DIY SECU-3


Has thanked: 1028 times
Been thanked: 2193 times

Post 08 Apr 2019, 11:28

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

1. Sorry, I don't understand your first question. Please clarify.
2. It depends on the selected fuel mode (alpha-N, Speed-density, AN+SD). For speed-density: basic PW calculated using the ideal gas law equation, after that appliyng other corrections (VE, AFR, AE, lambda etc). For Aplha-N: This mode is simular to Speed-density except MAP is replaced by TPS.
Author of the SECU-3™ project http://SECU-3.org. An open source engine control unit / Ignition control system, (C) 2007.
Клуб проекта в Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/secu3club
Клуб проекта ВКонтакте https://vk.com/secu3club (вступаем!)
<<

Stewart B

User avatar

Posts: 8

Joined: 28 Oct 2017, 06:05


Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Post 09 Apr 2019, 01:46

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

STC,
Thank you for your assistance.

1/ Speed Density is my preferred set up for Fuel and Ignition.

I use Dynosim 6 by Larry Atherton. I have much success with these figures. For example, my predicted VE for wide open throttle in increments of 500 rpm from 1000rpm to 7500rpm are,

64,73,82,83,85,91,100,103,104,102,99,94,88,87.

I can also acheive VE prdictions at approximate 1/2 throttle position for cruise VE predictions.
I am asking what technique do you and other users, employ.

2/ When using this table, what is meant by Min. Injection PW. Is it the pulse width time available at maximum rpm or Pulse width at VE 100, please.
Attachments
<<

STC

User avatar

Posts: 9012

Joined: 30 Apr 2013, 23:41

Location: Ukraine

Your CAR: AZLK 2140

SECU version: DIY SECU-3


Has thanked: 1028 times
Been thanked: 2193 times

Post 10 Apr 2019, 21:32

Re: Old tuner new to SECU-3i

2/ When using this table, what is meant by Min. Injection PW. Is it the pulse width time available at maximum rpm or Pulse width at VE 100, please.

It is limitation of minimum inj. pulse width. So, regardless of any calculations final PW can not fall below that value (will be restricted to Min. Injection PW).
Author of the SECU-3™ project http://SECU-3.org. An open source engine control unit / Ignition control system, (C) 2007.
Клуб проекта в Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/secu3club
Клуб проекта ВКонтакте https://vk.com/secu3club (вступаем!)
Next

Return to SECU-3 (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.